I’m expecting!!!

Standard

Pregnant with Anna at a baby shower!

Ok, so I know the title to this entry was a little misleading (I’m NOT expecting a new baby), but there are certainly things that I’m expecting in the life of our family as well as my own life!  One of the greatest things that I expect from our girls is that they obey mommy and daddy as well as other influential people in their life (i.e. teachers, grandparents, etc.).  While I totally understand that this is a tall order for young ones, I  believe that if they can get this obedience thing with people they can see, obeying God later in life will be second nature!  Another thing I expect from our girls is that they live life to the fullest having the most fun with mundane tasks!  We love making cleaning, folding laundry, and learning shapes and letters exciting and fun!   After all it has been said that “all work and no play makes one dull…”  And, dull just isn’t in my vocabulary!

Both Josh and I expect each other to communicate love, compassion, and honesty to everyone in our household!  Without open lines of communication spoken with respect, our family just wouldn’t be the same!  🙂  I totally love being able to speak openly to my husband, although he doesn’t always agree with me!!  😉

In my own life, I’m expecting to grow and mature into a woman of God that my girls and husband can be proud of!  I often read Proverbs 31 which speaks of the woman of noble character who is “clothed with strength and dignity… she speaks with wisdom… [because] charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised!”  I don’t really want “praise,” but I do expect to be an example so that our girls can grow and be women of  “noble character!”

One thought on “I’m expecting!!!

  1. ellen fowler

    Another wonderful entry, I find myself going on Facebook just to see if there is a new entry or not 🙂 You have wonderful goals for you and your family and you certainly are reaching them. Communication is the key to building wonderful relationships, yes for our husbands, and it of course also helps us build a better relationship with God.
    I know you’re not looking for praise, but I wanted to let you know that I see that you already are a beautiful woman of God for Josh and the girls to be proud of and look up too and yes we always need to keep that focas so we keep growing in the right direction and never fell like we’ve already attained it. Like it says in Phil. 3:12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.
    We are all a work in progress, and it’s always good to remeber to take a look at ourselves and see what we are focasing on and remember that we are being watched, so thanks for the reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

