When they grow up…

Standard

Anna and Emily loving each other!

So, we all had (or have) dreams of what we would be “when we grew up.”  My earliest recollection was that I wanted to be a singer.  Then, I wanted to act and sing on Broadway…  After that, I wanted to be a music teacher, which led me to being an elementary teacher (more jobs there) and fulfilling my passion for music and worship at church.  My dreams of being a wife and mom are continuing to unfold, and yet there are still dreams God has promised that will come to pass in His time.

I know God has great things for Anna and Emily, and I just wanted to take some time to dream for them.  Not that I believe that all of these things will come to pass, but I’m just taking an educated guess of the women they will be in the future based on their present disposition and personality!

Now, Anna is an extraordinary little 3 year old!  She comes across as pretty precocious and enthusiastic in certain settings, but if she’s in a situation in which she’s around folks she doesn’t know well, a bashful Anna appears.  For those who know Anna, this may come as a HUGE surprise because she has a great deal of energy and often allows her opinion to be heard!  She likes to take charge in familiar settings, she loves routine and predictability, and she often takes frequent opportunities to mother and teach her little sister!  Because of this, I think Anna would be a great mom and I also think she would be great as a teacher or manager!  🙂

Emily, on the other hand, is such a compassionate little girl.  When Anna has to sit in time out, Emily will wait for her by the bedroom door, and give her a hug after time out is over!  🙂  Emily also LOVES music.  She enjoys sitting at the piano pretending to sing, and when I’m playing at church, Emily often likes to come and help me!  She also really likes helping me in the kitchen as well as eating all the creations we make together!  From these aspects, I think Emily will be a wonderful, caring mommy, and I also think she would be great as a culinary expert, musician, or teacher of some sort.

Although the girls aren’t at the point where they are  “dreaming” for themselves quite yet, there is a wise verse from the Bible I often refer to when I find myself unsure of the path I am pursuing…  Proverbs 3:5,6, “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all of your ways, acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”  May God always grant our girls wisdom as they seek direction for their lives!

One thought on “When they grow up…

  1. ellen fowler

    I love that you’re dreaming of the girls future, it’s fun to imagine what they will be like when they grow up and the lives they will touch. I still get very excited as I wonder about all that the Lord is going to do in and through all of the beautiful children and now grandchildren that God has put into my life. You all have special talents and abilities that the Lord is using or going to use for His honor and glory. That is one of my very favorite scriptures as well, another favorite that I’ve lived by is Psalm 25:4-5 Show me Your ways O Lord, teach mme Your paths, guide me in Your truth and teach me, for You are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long.
    God is faithful to show us the way to go, our job is to ask. As I’m sure you are already doing the best thing we can do as moms is for us to pray for God’s will and not our own to be done in our children’s lives and then to ask God for the strength to let go as we need to and let them grow. He is always very sweet as He prepares us to let go every step of the way, because we have to let go many times through their lives, but God is always there leading them and holding our hearts 🙂

Leave a Reply

