Treasure

Standard

I’ve been reflecting a great deal about the word “treasure.”  Whether used as a noun or verb, the definition refers to regarding something of great wealth, precious, something or someone to be cherished.   Like many others, I have heard several sermons on the words of Jesus, “where your treasure is, there your heart will also be.”  While this is a passage in which I have experienced personal challenges, I recently noticed in Luke two phrases found on two separate occasions.  “But Mary treasured up all of these things in her heart.” Both times, I’m sure Mary was reflecting on God’s faithfulness in fulfilling His promise because her contemplation took place during times in which her son, Jesus, was being blessed (with gifts and worship from the wisemen and shepherds), and as she watched Jesus grow into a young boy/man.

These two instances or passages of scripture really challenged me recently because I often go through my day without really noticing the incredible little girls in front of me. Although I usually take time while they are sleeping to reflect on the day, I want to actually communicate to them their worth while they are awake!  Don’t get me wrong, we have a fun time and I believe our girls know I love and cherish them, but sometimes, I get so caught up with following rules, getting the house cleaned, naptime (or not), preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner, etc., etc., etc.!  What’s more important??  For me, I’m demanding that I take the TIME to relax with the girls and communicate to them just how incredible they are and how fabulously God made them!  I mean, who could really resist these two faces??

One thought on “Treasure

  1. Ellen Fowler

    I know I certainly can’t resist those 2 beautiful faces, that picture is just too cute 🙂
    I love the word treasure, for me that word doesn’t make me think of something material like a buried chest of gold, it makes me feel warm and comforted. God has blessed me with the treasure of a relaionship with Him, a beautiful family and some wonderful friends.
    As I’ve thought about that scripture over the years that talks about “Mary treasuring all these things in her heart”, I’ve thought of how when each of those events were happening and she was watching how she must have been so incredibly humbled once more that God had chosen “her” for this role. I know as a mom there have been many times over the years that I’ve been brought to tears as I’ve thought of how incredibly humbled “I” was that God would have seen fit to entrust me with each of the children He’s given me. Now before you think that I’m blaspheming, let me make myself clear, I’m saying that if little old me can feel humbled and thankful as I watched something that one of “my” children who are only human, were doing, or when someone was doing or saying something nice to them, than can you even imagine how Mary might have felt, because the child that was entrusted to her was the Child of God.

Leave a Reply

