In My Daughter’s Eyes

Standard

 

Both of my daughters!

As I was going through some old CD’s looking for some “calming” music for Anna’s rest time, I came across a CD called “A Mother’s Love.” It has many “motherly” and sappy songs on it, and I used to listen to it as I nursed Anna when she was a young infant.   One particular song, “In My Daugher’s Eyes,” sung by Martina McBride was a ballad that had meant a great deal to me at the time, and as I listened to it again, brought back fond memories of bonding (painfully at times :)) with my firstborn.  

 

In my daughter’s eyes I am a hero
I am strong and wise and I know no fear
But the truth is plain to see
She was sent to rescue me
I see who I wanna be
In my daughter’s eyes

In my daughter’s eyes everyone is equal
Darkness turns to light and the
world is at peace
This miracle God gave to me gives me
strength when I am weak
I find reason to believe
In my daughter’s eyes

And when she wraps her hand
around my finger
Oh it puts a smile in my heart
Everything becomes a little clearer
I realize what life is all about

It’s hangin’ on when your heart
has had enough
It’s giving more when you feel like giving up
I’ve seen the light
It’s in my daughter’s eyes

In my daughter’s eyes I can see the future
A reflection of who I am and what will be
Though she’ll grow and someday leave
Maybe raise a family
When I’m gone I hope you see how happy
she made me
For I’ll be there
In my daughter’s eyes

(Words By: James Slater)

2 thoughts on “In My Daughter’s Eyes

  1. ellen fowler

    That’s a beautiful song. I remember our children looking at me and wanting to be a better person for them and I never wanted to let them down, as happy as I was to have them, it was also scary to know that someone was so dependant on me and I just wanted to do it right. Yes, I made plenty of mistakes but my heart was always to love them and have them grow up to be strong men and women of God.
    There’s also nothing like seeing the world through our children’s eyes when they are small. I feel they can really teach us how we’re suppose to come to Jesus. He tell’s us in Mark that the Kingdom of God belongs to such as these, and when I’ve thought about that it’s made me look even more intently at our children and I feel they’ve taught me to trust unconditionally ( although that has been a work in progress), they don’t see the pregudices of the world or all of the negitivity, they never question that they’ll be taken care of, it never even crosses their mind, they just know it. I now have my grandchildren to keep reminding me and for that I’m very thankful.

  2. Victoria Gooding

    We are all a work in progress in God’s hands….that’s what makes life so incredibly interesting! I see such beauty in my children and now in my grandchildren and thank God that they are healthy, strong, and happy. What a joy to hear about Anna and Emily, and to talk to Ian and Sydney and the girls whenever I can pin them down long enough to talk. I don’t want to miss out on their growing years, though it seems like it’s going too fast for me to keep up, I think.

Leave a Reply

