Seeds

Standard

Early spring, the girls and I planted seeds so we could put plants into our raised garden bed in the backyard.  It was a great learning tool as I taught the girls what plants needed to grow, and so we started tomatoes, peppers, strawberries, lupine (a flower), marigolds, daisies, etc.  Anna, Emily, and I were so excited about our AWESOME garden.  When it was time, we made a day of putting the young seedlings in the garden, and waited for them to grow into huge fruit bearing plants.  However, our backyard bunnies had other plans…  They ate every last plant for breakfast!  When we went outside the next day to check on the plants, they were all GONE!  Poor Anna had a hard time with it, but she was rather glad that she was able to feed the bunnies.  So, we made a trip to Lowe’s and bought larger plants are doing fantastically in the garden.

All of this to say that I have been thinking a great deal about seeds and what I “plant” in the hearts of my girls.  Jesus says in John 12:24, “Unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains a single seed.  But if it dies, it produces many seeds.”  While I don’t desire to physically die at this point in my life, I do need to die to myself on a daily basis so that I can be alive in Christ.  How does this help my children?  Well, when I’m not focusing on myself and my problems, frustrations, ambitions, and futile thoughts, I can be more focused on them, and helping them be the best little girls they can be!  When I act in selfishness, conceit, false humility, and anger, those characteristics are what I’m going to plant in their little hearts.  But, when I die to myself, I can produce the fruit of the Spirit!  Bring it on!!!  LOVE, JOY, PEACE, PATIENCE, KINDNESS, GOODNESS, FAITHFULNESS, and SELF-CONTROL!  (Galatians 5:22, 23)  Lord, let it be so in my life today!

Leave a Reply

