Pleasant words

Standard

Anna and Emily being "pleasant" with each other!

As a mom of two wonderful, energetic, and often mind-boggling girls, I find myself seeking new ways of being the best mom I can be.  Thankfully, I have an instruction book in which I can find wisdom that although uncomfortable at times, is by far the best “advice” I have ever received.  The book of Proverbs talks a great deal about wisdom and how it’s important to seek “her.” (The writer of Proverbs attributes the female pronoun to wisdom.  Hmmmmm… 🙂 )  As I go through my days at home with the girls, I find that I can do much better with making my words more pleasant.  Just speaking, thinking, and in my case, writing the word pleasant is easy.  It just rolls off the tongue and gives the feeling of safety and rest.  That’s how I want my girls to feel when I’m around.  It’s not that I don’t feel I’m a good mom or that I don’t have what it takes because I know that “with God, all things are possible.”  I just know that I, along with others, need to be even more mindful of the words I speak and the tone in which they are spoken.  I have printed out and posted these following verses around my house in specific, high traffic areas so that I can be reminded even more of my words and how they need to be pleasant even when I’m tired and frustrated.

Proverbs 16:24
Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

Proverbs 15:26
… pleasant words are pure

Proverbs 16:21
The wise in heart are called discerning, and gracious words promote instruction.  A wise man’s (or woman’s) heart guides his mouth & his lips promote instruction.

Psalm 19:14
May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Leave a Reply

