REALLY?

Standard

Emily emptying the tissues into the sink as a "bed" for Bo-Bo! REALLY??

If you’re like me, you’d probably deny that there are days that you look to heaven only to say, “R  E  A  L  L  Y?”  Well, today is the day I come clean and confess!  In the last couple of weeks, I’d have to say that there have been more days than not that I have asked God, “Really???”  Being newly pregnant brings great sense of emotions for me.  I’m grateful for the new life with which I have been blessed, but I GREATLY despise the lack of energy and sickness that comes with it for me!  My house is a mess (I FINALLY cleaned our main bathroom today), laundry is piling up, and homemade meals have been few and far in between!  Not only have I had some difficulties the last couple of weeks, but every one in our household has been sick in some way or another.  Let me paint the picture of a day over a week ago, that almost sent me to the looney bin!!

Josh woke up with coursing pain in his abdomen, but being a great guy, he allowed me to sleep longer because he knew I was not feeling well and was exhausted.  However, when he couldn’t stand it any longer he came to get me to say that he thought he needed to go to the ER.  Uh oh…  So, I get dressed, get the girls dressed, and call my lifesaver, Karen M., to watch our girls while I took Josh to the hospital.  I drove Josh to the hospital to get him started, and on my way to Karen’s house, Emily barfed several times in her car seat.  The van smelled absolutely AWFUL, so being the newly preggo mom, I had to pull over to let my breakfast go as well.  AAAAAHHHHHH!  Windows down, humidity blazing, we continued on our way finally reaching Karen’s house!  She took the girls and washed Emily down as I cleaned the car seat… UGH…  Got it finished then headed back to the hospital to tend to Josh who was dealing with a kidney stone.  The meds were making him pretty sick, so he was also vomiting up breakfast…  After finally getting him under control, they released him, and as I walked out the door, a sense of dread filled my being.  I left the windows down to air out the van, and it’s now downpouring!  That’s the point when I about lost it!  I looked to heaven and almost screamed, “REALLY?”

Maybe you’ve had worse days than that, maybe not…  Either way, I’m sure you’ll face times of difficulty.  It’s by God’s good grace we’ve made it past that crazy day, and it’s by His grace we’ll make it through more!

4 thoughts on “REALLY?

  1. Sarah

    My empathy runs really high sometimes… your post just about made me cry! I’ve had some cruddy days like anyone else, but I think that one certainly deserves the “Really?!” response more than any I’ve had. Great reminder that His grace gets us through!

  2. Thanks! It can be difficult to remember that no matter what kind of day I’m having, someone else is probably experiencing worse! Makes me grateful for all the little (and big) blessings!

Leave a Reply

