Pregnancy Joys & Woes

Standard

The girls "massaging" my leg to make it feel better!

So, I really wish I could be one of those women who “glow” with pregnancy or feel absolutely stellar during each and every stage.  While there are certainly things I LOVE about being pregnant, there are some definite downsides for me.  As I found out I was pregnant with Anna, the feeling overwhelming joy and blessing overtook the nausea and vomiting… Well, at least most of the time.  🙂  I distinctly remember the day I was teaching a classroom full of 1st graders having to deposit my breakfast in the garbage can to their utter horror!  When I told them I was pregnant with a baby, they looked at me like I had told them I was really an alien!  It was during my pregnancy with Anna that I became ill with a enlarged nerve under my brain stem (it sounds more serious than it really was).  However, Emily’s pregnancy was a little easier with nausea and sickness, but around 16 weeks, I found the veins in my right leg causing a great deal of pain and swelling.  SO NOT PRETTY!  With baby #3, I have been SO exhausted!  There is absolutely no comparison with how tired I have felt this time around.  Plus, the veins are even more nasty, but I know they are SO worth the pain and ugliness!

By far, one of the BEST things about being pregnant is feeling the sweet little baby move inside.  There is nothing like being able to fully provide for and have a little secret with the baby before anyone else!  It’s also so incredible to share this present pregnancy with our girls.  They enjoy hearing the baby’s heartbeat and seeing the baby with ultrasound at the doctor’s appointments.  We pray for the baby every night, and it’s one of my greatest joys to hear my kiddos pray for and with each other!  Although pregnancy doesn’t bring me the greatest level of energy, appetite, or beautiful legs, God does bless me with beautiful, loving, and incredible children through it all!

One thought on “Pregnancy Joys & Woes

  1. Victoria Gooding

    I absolutely love this post!! How blessed you are to be so wise in this pregnancy, but I know that wisdom has come with a price: painful legs, nausea, and little appetite. You know that God has blessed you abundantly in your growing family!

Leave a Reply

