Waiting, waiting, and waiting…

Standard

A diaper bike made for us for the little guy! Isn't it cute?

Yes, for those of you who know I had some “false” labor a couple weeks ago, we are still eagerly awaiting the grand arrival of our newest bundle of joy!  Tomorrow, I will be only a week away from D-day, but it seems like I should have delivered him already!  Both Anna and Emily wake up daily wanting to know if the new baby will come today and whether or not I need to go to the hospital.  So, it’s not just Mommy and Daddy waiting anxiously!

It’s easy to become impatient and complain about the timing, especially when one is enormous and pretty uncomfortable.  However, the Lord has recently reminded me of the importance of patience in this matter, simply because the little guy isn’t READY yet!  Now, my reaction of impatience in this situation may seem silly to some, but there have been other times in my life in which I was awaiting an answer to prayer and became frustrated.  A verse in 2 Peter 3:9 reminds me that God’s timing is so much better than my own.  “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”  While this verse generally seems to refer to God’s unconditional love toward us in terms of salvation, I believe it also has a place in other aspects of our lives.  When we try to “rush” ahead of God, we may be missing some of the greatest blessings and opportunities to share His love and grace with others.  I know I remind myself often that “GOD IS NOT SLOW!” May God grant you grace today to wait on His incredible promises for your life!

“Be still before the Lord, and wait patiently for Him…” Psalm 37:7

One thought on “Waiting, waiting, and waiting…

  1. Victoria Gooding

    I know how hard it is to wait for ANYTHING! I have to remind myself all the time that there is a time for everything….that’s the way God designed it to be. He wants us to prepare and teaches us that patience is the hardest virtue to develop.

Leave a Reply

