Caleb’s Story

Standard

Caleb's one hour old! 🙂

Ahhhhhh, he’s finally here with us!  Caleb Joshua Fowler was officially welcomed into the world February 29, 2012 (his due date) at 6:53 am.  He was the second baby born on leap year day at Holy Spirit Hospital!  Caleb is my largest baby at  8 lbs. and 0.5 oz., and 20 1/2 inches long!

Ok, so the purpose of this blog is to recount stories of my kiddos so that, one day, they will read them and hopefully will become a treasure.  So, with that in mind, I’m going to relive the hours leading up to his birth (without being too graphic) and the days after…  Enjoy!

February 28 began rather normally with an OB appointment early in the morning.  The midwife I saw knew I was getting super uncomfortable, so she tried to hurry things along for me. 😉  It worked because later that afternoon I began feeling pretty strong and regular contractions.  After 3 or 4 walks around the neighborhood, playing with the girls, and doing some light housework, Josh took me to the hospital around midnight.  Thankfully, when I got to the hospital, the nurse and midwife checked my progress to find I was 5 cm dilated already!  I kept laboring throughout the rest of the night, without the help of an epidural… WILL NOT DO THAT AGAIN!!!  OWIE!  I honestly don’t know what I was thinking, but by the time I past the point of no return, it was too late.  I remember yelling specific phrases to Josh… “I CAN’T DO THIS!”  “WHY DID YOU LET ME DO THIS TO MYSELF??”  Poor guy…  😦  However, Caleb’s arrival became closer and closer I knew I had to buckle down and get the job done because let’s face it, I wanted to meet this sweet little man!  🙂  As I held him for the first time, it was certainly love at first sight.  His sweet lips and auburn hair stole my heart forever!

Josh stayed with me at the hospital in one of those awful “daddy” chairs…  What a trooper!  Later that day, the girls and Grandma came to meet Caleb for the first time, and both of the girls loved meeting him and checking his heart with the very kind nurse who was checking Caleb.

So far, Caleb’s first 5 days of life have been really great.  He sleeps, eats, and gets his diaper changed pretty much ALL day long!  While I look forward to the days ahead, I pray that I treasure as many moments now as possible so that I don’t live a life of regrets.  Lord, help me to savor the good days and learn from the bad ones, so that I can be the mommy you designed me to be!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Caleb’s Story

  1. Josh Fowler

    You are an amazing wife & mom to our kids!
    You labored much better than I would have. I would have been asking for them to put me under or knock me out or something.
    Love you. Go Team Fowler!

  2. Victoria

    I love Team Fowler and all the adventures!! I plan on making my time there with you all in April something wonderful that we will never forget! I’m planning on having a lot of fun with the girls, along with many hugs and kisses, and plenty of snuggle time with Caleb. They’ll all have fun with Mima, for sure!!

    I do so agree with Josh, you are an awesome mommy to your babies! You will never have any regrets as long as you always follow God’s will.

Leave a Reply

