Buyer Beware!

Standard

We’ve all heard the saying, “garbage in, garbage out.”  However, when does it actually apply to us?  I know I’ve used that phrase frequently when talking with children and teenagers, but for some reason, I forget that it also is a good rule of thumb for myself.  Too often, adults indulge themselves in the lie that television, movies, books, and music don’t affect our thinking.  We think, “I know the difference between reality and fantasy” or “I’m mature enough not to do what I see or hear.”  Let me be clear, when we listen to, believe, or repeat that lie, it’s a lie directly from the enemy of our hearts.  Our enemy (Satan) is sneaky and uses things, often seemingly innocent, to break relationships with our families, kids, spouses, and godly people the Lord has placed in our life for our good.

Frankly, I’m tired of it.  Not just for others’ sakes but for my own.  Romans 12:2 puts it succinctly, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Then, you’ll be able to test and approve what God’s will is- His good, pleasing, and perfect will.” Our minds are a battlefield between good and evil, but when we ask the Lord to renew it, we are TRANSFORMED!  Only then can we truly understand that God’s will is absolutely good, ultra-pleasing, and perfectly perfect.

Please understand that I like a good story and show just like the next person, and trust me, this is not coming from a legalistic heart.  However, I’ve been feeling and seeing that what I put into my mind often comes out of my mouth or through my actions, and I’m sure I’m not alone!

In this struggle, we can also be assured that while God doesn’t enjoy watching us sin over and over again, He is “slow to anger and abounding in love.”  I’m grateful that each time I mess up and go to my Father, He welcomes me home with open arms.  Allow Him to do the same for you today!

One thought on “Buyer Beware!

  1. Ellen

    Amen, Amen, Amen!! I so agree with everything you’ve said and believe the Lord has been speaking the same thing to my heart.

Leave a Reply

