Bonding

Standard

So, like any other good mom I’m constantly thinking of my kids and how to help them become the people God created them to be.  Perhaps the greatest thing I can give them is my time and myself.  I’m sure there are those who say, “What do you mean, ‘give more of yourself?  Don’t you do that everyday since you stay at home with them?'”  To that I say, “Yes.  I do stay home with my kids, but I have to constantly remind myself to find ways to bond with my kids as family as well as individuals.”  There are always chores to be done, laundry that needs to be folded, weeds to be pulled, as well as so many other activities that take my time that it can be a struggle to devote the time the kiddos want and need.  One of the greatest ways I have found to bond with the kids is to discover their love language (quality time, gifts, words of affirmation, physical touch, and acts of service ) and actually do things within their primary love language to demonstrate love to them.  You can check out this concept out and even take the assessment at http://www.5lovelanguages.com/.  While all of my children are still young and their love language may change over the years, this is what I have found so far in their little lives…

Anna 4 1/2 years old

Anna: Her main love language is quality time.  There is nothing she loves more than having mommy or daddy spend time with her.  It could be sitting and watching Mickey Mouse Clubhouse for a couple minutes in the morning or having her own “learning time” in the afternoon with mommy.  As long has it’s spending time with her, she’s happy!  Anna also loves receiving gifts!  I could come home with something costing $.25 and she’d be ecstatic!

Emily almost 3

Emily: After a nap or pretty much any time of day, Emily loves to hug and cuddle.  She loves to feel close to others!  She often tries to cuddle with Anna by hugging her, touching her with her feet, or kissing her, but unfortunately, physical touch isn’t Anna’s love language!  Emily will wrap her arms around my legs while cooking, and she loves to play “silliness” with daddy!  Emily also loves words of affirmation as well.  She enjoys being praised, and when others are praised, she will often do whatever necessary to get the praise as well!

Caleb 4 months

Caleb: Right now, he’s pretty much the easiest to assess!!  He loves to nurse and feel close to mommy!  When I smile, he does.  When I talk to him, he either smiles or talks back (in a nice way).  I’m looking so forward to finding out what makes him feel loved as he grows, but I’m so enjoying his baby days of blissful fun!

I continue to pray that God would give me and Josh the wisdom to know how to raise these precious ones, and that He would FREEZE time because it’s all going by so fast! 🙂  Ha ha!  I do enjoy my job (most days)!

One thought on “Bonding

  1. Ellen

    I just want to say that you are an incredible mom! I love to read your blogs, you always make me cry ( in a good way) I love how attentive you always are to the details of how better to connect & raise your children, the time does go by way to fast. You will never regret the time you invest in your children.
    Love you

Leave a Reply

