Disconnecting

Standard

For the last couple of days, I have sensed a need to disconnect from social networking (Facebook).  So, for the next 40 days, I will not be on Facebook or checking it, posting pictures or even blog posts.  Please understand that I’m not doing this to prove a point, look mature, or feel good about myself.  Quite honestly, I have felt myself looking at what others are posting (status updates, pictures, blogs, etc.) and essentially judging or having a strong opinion I wouldn’t have otherwise.  So, I’m choosing to pray and not judge, spend quality time with my family, work on my class, and focus on God’s Word.  For the next 40 days, I’m praying for impossible situations to become possible in the lives of my family, friends, and church family.  Please pray with me!  This song has meant a great deal to me and it’s the prayer of my heart for this period of time.  I have bolded the phrases that I’m specifically praying.  Allow it to bless you as it has me…

  • I am Thine, O Lord, I have heard Thy voice,
    And it told Thy love to me;
    But I long to rise in the arms of faith,
     And be closer drawn to Thee.
  • Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,
      To the cross where Thou hast died;
    Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,
        To Thy precious, bleeding side.
  • Consecrate me now to Thy service, Lord,
    By the pow’r of grace divine;
    Let my soul look up with a steadfast hope,
    And my will be lost in Thine.
  • O the pure delight of a single hour
      That before Thy throne I spend,
    When I kneel in prayer, and with Thee, my God,
      I commune as friend with friend!
  • There are depths of love that I yet may know
    Ere Thee face to face I see;
    There are heights of joy that I yet may reach
    Ere I rest in peace with Thee.

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/387#ixzz203Wkbvsp

One thought on “Disconnecting

  1. Ellen

    I love the journey that you are on and I can’t wait to see and hear all of the wonderful things that God is going to speak to you and do in and through you. He always wants us closer to Him than anyone or anything, it’s a journey for all of us so thanks for the great reminder 🙂
    Love Mom

Leave a Reply

