Me first?

Standard

Lately, I’ve been seeing quite a few instances (blogs, articles, tv shows) in which mom’s are encouraged to have as much “me” time as possible for a variety of reasons, mainly so they can feel rejuvenated enough to be a better mom.  Now, I do understand that some mom’s stay at home and are constantly with and attending to the needs of their children.  I also understand that some moms work full-time and not only have the demands of their paid job but also their home and family.  And, there are mom’s who work part-time outside of the home (or work in their home around the family schedule) who also face daily struggles to balance their life.  Trust me, I completely understand this.  However, I’m just wondering how much of the “me” society we live in plays into this thought of mom’s getting enough of their “me” time, and how much “me” time I really need.

As I do with so many of my life questions, I have looked into scripture to see just how God wants me to take care of myself and where “I” fall on the priority list of life.  As I did, my mind when straight to Matthew 6:33, (PLEASE correct me if I’m wrong) and, I don’t remember seeing, “Put yourself first and all these things…”  Oh wait, if I REALLY read that verse correctly, it goes something like this, “Seek first the Kingdom of God, and all these things will be added to you.”  (Matthew 6:33)  So, from my understanding, when I’m choosing (and that’s really what it is…  it’s a CHOICE) to obey God, follow Him and His desire for me, all these things: my needs, my family, my recreation, my job, my ministry, my friendships, my relationships, my “me” time…  WILL be added to me!

Sometimes, mom’s take the road of martyrdom.  “I have to do EVERYTHING around here.” “No one does anything.”  “No one listens to me.”  The phrases go on and on and on and on…  I’ve been there.  I’ve said those VERY things.  Definitely didn’t make me feel better either.  AND, I’m pretty sure if I had some “me” time that day, I would have felt pretty rotten about it.  What needs to change?  Not my circumstance, not my kids (well, maybe a little), not my husband, but ME!  It starts with ME!  However, it takes courage to step out, to be different, to be a woman not consumed with “me” but with “you,” and “Him” (I’m talking about Jesus here…).  Not as a doormat or a submissive wet noodle, but as a woman strong in faith looking to the Savior for rest and peace.  Trust me, I’m finding it takes a greater strength and resolve to be obedient than to be otherwise…  When I find I need a break from family life, I do enjoy a good movie or a date with a girlfriend, and I don’t believe those things are wrong at all.  But, however fun and relaxing, those activities cannot fill a void I feel deep in my spirit.  The “me” time I really need to have is the time I spend resting in the Father’s love, gleaning peace and direction from His Word, and interceding for His causes.  Allowing His times of refreshing to rejuvenate my day is by far the best “me” time I can think of!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs 3:5-6

One thought on “Me first?

  1. Sarah

    Wow this is beautiful and I can feel the presence of God with me while I read it. This is so helpful!! I would love to hear more.I agree 100% with this. When did society become so selfish that our kids become last. The most precious gift beside salvation that God give a woman is her family, her kids…so we need to put them last because “I” come first? It doesn’t make sense to me. Society is so messed up in this area (as well as other areas). Thank you for writing this blog!

Leave a Reply

