I wish I had it all together…

Standard

Today has been one of those days…  Well, to be truthful, it’s been one of those weeks, no wait, one of those months…  I found myself saying to myself just a couple minutes ago as I was reading a fantastic mommy blog, “Christa, you need to get it together.”  Now, what does “it” mean?  For me, WAY too many things.  I always have this “perfect” example of what a day for me should look like.  And, it always begins at waking up at 5 am with birds chirping, pouring my first cup of coffee without anyone else awake so I can have some quality time reading my Bible, making a hot breakfast for everyone, and MAYBE just maybe, even having time for a shower after which I greet everyone with an enthusiastic smile and cheerful, “Good morning!”  Unfortunately, when 5 am rolls around, I seem to just want to roll over because of too many nighttime calls from one (or more) kiddo or because I didn’t get to bed a great time the night before or just because I’m TIRED.

Too often I go through my days not calling on the One who can help me to realize that I don’t need to have it ALL together.  I’ve heard it said WAY too often that “God won’t give you more than you can handle.”  Now, I understand the intention of that phrase, but it’s simply incorrect.  God allows us to experience things that are difficult not so that we can “handle” them on our own, but so that we CALL UPON HIM in our times of trouble.  I’ve been taking rest in the fact that, “God is good, a refuge in times of trouble.  He cares for those who trust in Him.”  Nahum 1:7

Too often, I believe I can do everything.  I can cook the perfect meal with a kid on my hip and two others pulling my pants to my ankles.  I can fold laundry so that there’s no more… EVER.  I can write the perfect paper for my professor.  I can smile and say, “Welcome to your spotless home, honey,” when Josh comes home.  I can always have the right attitude with the cashier at the store who forgets my coupons, again.

Truth is, it’s only by the grace of God I can do any of the above.  However, in living life, day to day, “With God, all things are possible.”

So, now that I’ve said all that, I’m striving not to “be” perfect, but to simply “be” and serve the perfect God.

 

 

One thought on “I wish I had it all together…

  1. Victoria

    I do know how you feel. I remember so clearly trying to “do it ALL” and forgetting from whom “ALL” is given to us. Today, for example, my hubby is out of town for 2 whole days/nights, so I think ” I can get soooo much done!” NOT! I realized while I was also working, that I was incorrectly putting more before myself, without asking God for wisdom in doing so. Well, halfway through the day, that “wisdom” finally hit….so instead of trying to clean all 4 fish tanks, putting away summer stuff, cleaning our clothes closet and bringing down winter clothes along with painting the closet door, I spent a few minutes just thanking God for not letting me be crazy again. I’ll do the fish tanks tomorrow evening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

