Guard their hearts…

Standard

My sweet, innocent little man!

A couple of weeks ago, I heard this specific word from the Lord, “Guard their hearts, so that they can learn to do it for themselves one day.”  Now, I don’t usually “hear” things like this very often, so I thought, “Wow, ok, so I guess this has to be my #1 job.”  I mean, it came from God and I definitely see it in His word (look at Proverbs 4), so I simply can’t argue with it.  Plus, I do know that there are many ideas, people, friends, television shows, movies, books, and on and on and on and on… that are vying for my kids’ attention and dedication to things that would not please God.  After thinking through and praying through this call, I’ve come to a place where I can feel more confident in it.  I believe God is calling me to help my kids process things of the world that are ungodly and to make wise choices that would please Him.

Notice I didn’t say “shelter” or “protect” or “place in my comfortable Christian bubble.”  In fact, I believe this would be counterproductive because when I shelter my kids from something, they don’t learn from it or truly even understand God’s heart about it.  Now, I do believe there is an appropriate time to introduce certain things to them and will try my best to shield their innocence as much as humanly possible.  However, when it comes to the hard tasks of explaining the world to my sweet ones, I’m choosing the path less traveled.  I’m choosing to talk about it extensively, not to ignore or gloss over it.  I’m choosing to show my kids what God’s word says about their question or problem.  I’m choosing to not allow the world dictate how my kids “turn out.”  I choose to be influential in their lives and to help my children make wise choice.  They are small for such a short time.  Let this time COUNT!  Lord, allow godly wisdom reign supreme in our home!

Proverbs 4:23, Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

Leave a Reply

