A Garland of Grace

Standard
My three sweets!

My three sweets!

Reading through God’s word today, I stumbled upon Proverbs 1:8 & 9… “Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.  They will be a garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.”

Whew… Just to think, my teaching…  A garland to grace and a chain to adorn?  That must mean that the garland and chain ought to be pretty beautiful or at the very least, good-looking.  The last couple of days, I’ve buckled down to teach my girls the fine art of “making” their hair.  I’ve demonstrated proper brushing skills (start at the top and brush all the way to the tips, in case you’re wondering), how to secure a barrette, and why blow drying hair before bed is important.  However, this particular passage of scripture from the book of Proverbs, really got me thinking about whether or not my teaching makes my children beautiful, from the inside out.  Teaching not only hygiene, but the condition of their heart, attitude, and spiritual development.

Anna told me last night, “Wow, Mommy!  Blow drying my hair really does make it look shiny and clean after bath!”   Not only do I want her, Emily, and Caleb to be excited about how they look on the outside (and boy, they are seriously BEAUTIFUL!), I want them to be just as excited to find the sense of fulfillment of when they give unselfishly to others or the peace that comes when they obey even when others are doing wrong or the love they sense when they serve others faithfully.  I pray God gives me the grace to know how to teach and demonstrate His heart to my three sweets.

Lord, help our teaching to be a garland to grace and a chain to adorn our children!

2 thoughts on “A Garland of Grace

  1. Ellen

    I love how quick you are to recieving what God is showing you in His word and wanting to apply it not only for yourself but for your family. Your kids are very blessed!

Leave a Reply

