Before I was a momma

Standard
He's just ONE of my favorite faces! :)

He’s just ONE of my favorite faces! 🙂

I can hardly believe it’s only been a little over 5 years since becoming a momma.  However, before I was “mom,” I was “wife,” “teacher,” “mentor,” “daughter,” and the list goes on and on.  My profession before “mom” was elementary school teacher.  There, I had a routine.  A schedule.  A nice, neat package of a day full of structure yet flexibility and the occasional excitement because when one teaches, there’s bound to be at least one surprise in a day.  I went to work at a certain time every day and came home at another designated time every day.  I had summers off.  My life was pretty predictable.  Just the way I liked it.

And then, the day came when I realized I was PREGNANT!  WOO HOO!  I did the happy dance!  I envisioned this perfect life with a perfect baby.  EVERYTHING would be perfect.  Just the way I wanted it.  Then, I barfed, literally.  And again, and again.  Ugh.  I’m exhausted, pale, too skinny to be pregnant I was told.  *Boy, don’t I wish THAT could happen again.*

From the day I knew I was pregnant, my life was changed.  I didn’t know it then, but I do now.  Instead of being able to control EVERYTHING, the little person growing inside me now did.  She told me when I was hungry and what for.  She wanted to play in the womb at 2 am.  And, it hasn’t changed.  Everyday, I give up a little more of myself.  To them (my three kids and husband), to Him (Jesus).  It’s not a bad thing.  In fact, it continues to mold me and shape me to be more of woman God intended for me to be.

Oh, I could have been an excellent professional.  But, God had something different for me so that HE could grow me in ways I would never have grown had I not been given my three most precious gifts.

First came Anna.  We often call her our precious first born baby.  Then, came Emily Grace *imagine me singing here* who has a pretty face, and I love her sooooooo!  And finally, our sweet baby boy (who will be 1 year old next week), Caleb, entered our family with such joy!

I continually hand over the reigns to my heavenly Father.  Anna goes out of our house for preschool *gasp* and I trust that those who care for her and teach her will do it with all of their hearts.  Emily needs extra help with her speech.  Although I’d like to, I can’t do it for her.  We’re helping her, she has to learn to say her “s,” “sh,” and “f” sounds with clarity.    And Caleb, well, I just have to continually put him in my Master’s hands.  Who knows what kind of challenges lay ahead for my family, but as we allow Him control and dominion over our family, we trust His perfect way!

4 thoughts on “Before I was a momma

  1. I remember those days, not being your own, but the day will come when house will be quiet and the memories will fill the air. This post made me smile and hear the past calling me…Thank you!

Leave a Reply

