‘Tude

Standard

PerformanceSo, I KNOW I’m not the only one, but man, there has been some ‘tude (attitude) reigning in our home!  Bah!  We have eye-rolling, huffing and puffing when asked to do something, and even the occasional yelp here and there.  I’m not one to “want” to be a nagging mom, but really?!  There’s only so much I can handle, and we don’t even have TEENAGERS yet!

As I’ve been pondering what to do about this issue, I’ve been asking the Lord to first of all, “change me.”  And, quite honestly, we’re really trying to pick our battles so that the infamous nagging doesn’t occur.  I’ve also been reading through Francine Rivers’ novella, The Warrior which is a character study and fictional account of Caleb from the Old Testament.  Since I LOVE history, the Bible, AND fiction, this has been an awesome read for me.

So, let me set the stage…  Caleb has been chosen, along with his buddy, Joshua, to lead the people through the wilderness for 40 years pretty much to kill off the rebellious slaves God GRACIOUSLY delivered from the hand of the Egyptians.  The people of Israel were led by a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night.  When either of those lifted, they were to pack up their things and move on to where the presence of God was leading them.  However, they were SO impatient with God, doubting Him and His powers and ways, backbiting, disobeying leadership, and worshiping themselves and idols.  During this wilderness experience, Caleb was training young men to be warriors for the Lord, taking back their Promised Land.  As he was training them physically, he was also mentoring them in the Faith.  I LOVED this quote from the book on page 86,

“The camps move with the precision of an army.  When the cloud rose, so too did the people, often even before the shofar blasted.  The people were learning, day by day, week by week, month by month, year by year to keep watch and follow the Lord.  The old moaned and mourned, grumbled and groaned, and died.  The young praised and practiced, rejoiced in and reverenced God, and lived.”

And, then it hit me…  I’m the one mentoring and leading in the Faith.  Do I want my kids to be ones who moan and groan? NO WAY!  Well, then…  Should I moan and groan?  Absolutely not!  Grumbling and complaining, being rude and having attitude is NOT an acceptable way of life for my kids, and it certainly isn’t for me either.  Granted, we all have our days, but a majority of the time should not be spent wallowing or being negative.  Let’s live as the young Israelites did…  Praising, rejoicing in God!  LIVING!  🙂

2 thoughts on “‘Tude

  1. Ellen

    Great word as usual Christa, to it I say a resounding Amen! I love how you always stop and think about instead of just reacting, I know I wish I had done that more when I was raising kids. I am so very thankful that the Lord saw fit to give our grandchildren such a wonderful mommy who wants to live for the Lord and to show them the way too 🙂 We all do need to make that desision everyday to be positive no matter what’s going on around us, it’s a choice to be positive. That’s not always easy but if we will ask the Lord like you did, He is always faithful to help, that’s all part of abiding in Him, He never intended for us to live this life alone. This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in Him 🙂 Thanks for pointing us back to praising once again!
    Love you

Leave a Reply

