Hope in a judgmental age

Standard

How do you know that one is a “good” parent?  In the information age full of social media rants, know-it-all bloggers, online articles full of bad research, and weirdos who have bad intentions, that question is being more difficult to answer.  At least once a day, I read an article or blog post that pretty much tells me I’m doing at least one thing wrong with my children.  So, I second-guess myself, re-evaluate where we are.  Do I need to change?  Do my kids need to change?  UGH.  

I often wonder how the settlers parented without this much influence.  Did they just go by their gut-instinct? Or did they seek advice from the next town over?  I’m sure they didn’t judge each others Instagram pics or give mean stares to mom’s who choose to or not to follow a delayed vaccine schedule.  

More and more, I’m finding that Josh and I rely and need the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and wisdom from God’s word SO much.  When I find myself searching online for answers (and, by the way, I do believe the Lord uses some AWESOME people online to share His truth) first, instead of going to HIM and HIS Word, I will often find myself frustrated and disappointed.  

Today is a difficult age in which to live.  It may seem “easier” with all the modern conveniences (we LOVE GPS), but such set backs and feelings of inadequacies and failure reign supreme all to often simply because we read about something new or see a new study that tells us we’re doing it all wrong.  Today, judging is at an all-time high simply because we can do it at every hour of every day ONLINE.  I’m checking my heart today, and instead of offering a judgmental response, I’m choosing to offer HOPE.  There is hope for moms, dads, grandparents, and other guardians who are shaping and molding tomorrow’s world.  The HOPE is in a relationship with Jesus not with social media.  

I often feel like an Israelite in the days of old…  Wandering, exiled, trying to “feel” my way through life.  I find incredible rest in the promises of God through the prophet Jeremiah, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”  ~ Jeremiah 29:11-13  

The warm and fuzzy part (that He plans to prosper me and wants to give me a hope and future) is SO awesome, but often I forget the second half…  (To call on Him and pray to Him…  To seek Him)  He’s waiting, available, accessible, always wanting to listen and respond to His kids.  Need wisdom?  Ask.  Need healing?  Ask.  Need favor?  Ask.  Need fulfillment? ASK HIM.  “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

 

2 thoughts on “Hope in a judgmental age

  1. Ellen

    Love, love, LOVE this!! Wonderful insight the Lord is giving you and I love how He gives you such a creative way to put it into words. Great job Christa!
    Love you 🙂

  2. Victoria Gooding

    This is wonderful, Christa!! You have such an amazing insight into the daily trials and tribulations of raising Godly children and keeping yourself grounded and SANE!!

Leave a Reply

