HURL it!

Standard

I bet you’re wondering why I have included a softball and mitt on my blog today…  Well, in elementary, jr. high, and a bit of high school, I LOVED to play softball, especially as a catcher.  One of the greatest moments in a game for me is when the runner on first would try to steal second, but was tagged out because of a beautiful, powerful, quick throw I hurled from home to 2nd base.

Softball and Mitt 346x238

1 Peter 5:7-8a, “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be self-controlled and alert.”   

This verse is one of God’s greatest commands spoken to church leaders from the Apostle Peter…  Give JESUS your cares, burdens, and anxieties.  Why? Because He cares for you, ahem… and me.  So often I quote this verse to those who are hurting, tired of life, and carrying the burdens of the world on their shoulders.  However, I forget that this is not just a command punched with a promise for everyone else in the world, but it’s also for me, too.  🙂  Two words stood out to me as I meditated on this passage earlier this week:

Cast: throw, heave, fling, eject, hurl, launch, toss…  These are all fabulous synonyms of the word “cast.”  Depending on the day, sometimes I need to simply “toss” while others a heavy “hauling” is in order.

Anxieties: uncertainty, disquiet, doubts, misgivings, concerns, panic, troubles… No matter the word put in it’s place, these are attitudes and feelings I don’t want to have placed upon me.

And, guess what?  As I grow older and mature (yes, for real, I think it’s actually happening), I’m finding that it does take a certain alertness or awareness of the things that trigger my emotions down a spiraling path in which a self-controlled heart can HURL these anxieties, worries, concerns, and troubles.  However, I find that this self-control requires practice and discipline, just like my throws from home to 2nd base.  I got better and better as I practiced and trained.  AND, just like those plays in the game of softball, many times, I was successful and other times I was not.  I couldn’t let that one failure get me down.  I had to try and try again.

Today, I’m aiming to HURL my past, my missteps, failed attempts, and concerns on the ABLE God who promises to “supply all of my needs.”  I need Him.  I’m CRAVING Him more and more daily.  May this be a promise to you today as well, “And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19 (NLT)

5 thoughts on “HURL it!

  1. Kristin T

    I love love love a sports analogy! What a great visual! Thank you for sharing your heart and reminding me that sometimes we can toss them easily and sometimes we really have to hurl those doubts, anxieties, worries, stresses, temptations, etc! Love you sweet friend!!

  2. OMGosh. It’s like Shelly said in the blog and you had a hidden camera in my head!! She said house, but this was the stuff..the misgivings in my head last night. I had prayed Lord, why can’t I get this gone, please take this from me? And this morning He said “my grace is sufficient for you.” I loved the way you wrapped this up in a sports analogy and I can picture picking up the pieces of my misgivings, looking at our Father as I get ready to throw the pitch and He gives me the nod to go ahead, because He’s got this and then I hurl them His way. Thank you for sharing this. Love, love, love it!!!

Leave a Reply

