Satisfied with Obedience

Standard

All too often, I want results and I want them NOW.  The scale, my kids, a promotion (well, I’m at the top of the food chain as a SAHM, but when I worked outside the home), personal growth…  The list goes on and on.  The appeal of instant gratification hasn’t quite lost it’s grip on me, but I’m sensing a pull to something even greater… deeper than the snag of a quick fix.  It’s the delight in sensing a direction and then following through, obeying the Lord week by week, day by day, hour by hour, and often, minute by minute.

obedience1

As I study Made to Crave, I LOVE how Lysa TerKeurst puts a GREAT emphasis on the call to obey the Lord rather than be “defined” by the numbers on the scale.  While I wish the scale would move downward faster, I’m satisfied believing that He’s pleased because I’m attempting to discern and obey His voice rather than my cravings.  And, why do I strive to obey Him?  It’s because I love Him.

I came across 2 Corinthians 4:18 and was greatly encouraged in this journey of obedience. “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen [physical changes, outward appearance], but on what is unseen [obedience to the Lord, spiritual growth], since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (The words in [] are my own.)  Isn’t it so true?  Our outward beauty fades (Proverbs 31:30, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting”), but it’s what is in our spirits, hearts, and souls that endures the test of time.

So, just as I ask my own children to obey my voice, I pray that my own heart and ears would be open to the voice of the Lord.  And, that I would obey, trusting that it is in Him alone I can be satisfied.

6 thoughts on “Satisfied with Obedience

  1. Wow, awesome blog! I really need this right now. I have been struggling since the weekend, and this is just what I need to refocus. I am adding this verse to my arsenal. I am so glad you added your words because they really spoke to my anxious and weary spirit.

  2. Ellen

    Another beautifully written blog! I love the insights the Lord gave you into that scripture it really made it clearer. Thanks for always sharing your heart so beautifully with us 🙂 I love you!

  3. Christa, I am right there with you on wanting those results right away!! This study has really opened my eyes to how I define success, and how I’d like it to be not in numbers, but in how obedient I am and what God sees in my heart. Thanks for sharing!

    Kris Danko (OBS Blog Hop Team)

Leave a Reply

