The greatest portion

Standard

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”

Lamentations 3:22-24

Just visiting this verse over and over again, makes my soul JUMP with excitement!  WOO HOO!  However, when it comes down to the nitty gritty, everyday practices of an everyday, ordinary life it seems SO out of reach and out of touch for today’s modern human. Quite honestly, reading through the book of Lamentations is rather depressing.  I mean, there’s A LOT of bad stuff happening…  Just in the beginning of chapter 3 we see the prophet Jeremiah (who is often referred to as the “weeping prophet”) writing stuff like, “He has made my skin and my flesh grow old and has broken my bones” (vs. 4).  And in verses 16 & 17, “He has broken my teeth with gravel; he has trampled me in the dust.  I have been deprived of peace; I have forgotten what prosperity is.”  Talk about a ROTTEN day, week, month, and YEAR!!  But, if even the “Weeping Prophet” had hope, I’m POSITIVE that this hope is available to us as well!  All of this ugly, heart-breaking destruction is surrounding him, but he declares, “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope.”  WOOOOOO, I get all jittery when I hear that!

Remnants of what Caleb "consumed."  :)

Remnants of what Caleb “consumed.” 🙂

Let me unpack this passage by walking through some words that encouraged & challenged me:

“Not consumed…”    I don’t *have* to be overwhelmed by life’s circumstances.  Troubles, trials, and temptations will surely follow me as long as I live, BUT I don’t have to be overtaken by them, focusing worry and anxiety on those things.  I don’t have to live “consumed” because He loves me SO much.

“Compassions are NEW every morning…”  Well, if HIS compassions are NEW every morning, then perhaps mine should be as well.  OUCH, right?  Too often, I want to hold on to grudges and complaints, remembering the pains of the past.  Too often, I remember what my husband or kids did the day before, and wake up feeling defeated before even beginning.  May I recall HIS great faithfulness in the morning, and as I awake each day, may MY mercy and compassion be renewed!

“Portion…wait for Him…”  He’s all I *should* need.  I *should* wait for Him.  These things a good, Christian girl should know, right?  Sometimes, I MAJORLY fail at this.  I put other things/people before Him.  I’m impatient at waiting for His time and want to rush through.  May I be obedient when He reminds me of this incredible truth.

I will leave now with my MOST favorite song by Sara Groves.   As we walk through valleys or even on the mountaintop, may our voices ring strong, “He’s ALWAYS been faithful to me.”

15 thoughts on “The greatest portion

  1. Ellen

    As a woman who’s lived long enough to testify to God’s faithfulness, but do I always remember His wonderful faithfulness when I’m in the midst of a battle, I will say a great big NO, well at least not right away. But again, God is always faithful to gently remind me, sometimes in His word, but sometimes it’s through someone else that shows me something in His word that reminds me to look back and see how far He’s brought me or how He works things out in His way and in His time.
    Thanks you for another wonderful blog and for unpacking that scripture so beautifully, I can truly say, He has ALWAYS been faithful to me 🙂

  2. Nichole

    LOVE! 🙂 Thank you for sharing….may God seed this scripture in our hearts as we remember HE is our portion and He is MORE than enough.

  3. Love the way you unpacked this verse and I love the song as well which is so serene and beautiful. It amazes me how faithful our Father is and how quickly we can let circumstances prevail. Thank you Lord for your grace and your faithfulness!! Awesome blog post!! Thank you for sharing ❤

  4. Stacey Mendro (Proverbs 31 OBS Team Member)

    Beautifully written, sweet Christa! Knowing that His faithfulness is NEW every morning is such a blessed HOPE for us! I LOVE that GOD IS my PORTION! This verse is close to my heart as I cried out to the Lord to help me overcome the temptations of foods I was trying to get past. HE helped me….HE is my portion! Praise God!!

  5. sharla barnes

    Christa! I love how I can feel your heart as you are writing. You are just a blessing and an encouragement. I remind myself of this verse so many times. Some days it is hard to live out but I am so thankful for His strength. Love you girl!

  6. Yvonne Fuchs OBS Group #49 Leader

    I know when I read some of the verses that you were quoting, the thought came to me – And I think I have it bad!!!! But when we get into everyday life, you stated it perfectly, we are human and we fail. Thanks for sharing the beautiful song as well as well picked words.

Leave a Reply

