A Modern Parable

Aside

Oh my stars or should I say “jewels” …  It’s been quite a week…  Whew.  While I won’t go into too much detail, I would LOVE to share an event that occurred that is reminiscent of a modern-day parable.  Monday was an exciting day in which I was going along on a field trip with Anna’s class to the bowling alley.  (I know, weird field trip, right?)  We had a BLAST, and Anna had a GREAT beginning score.  Can you believe she bowled 100?

Anna Bowling

After coming back from the field trip, I had to run to the store to get ginger ale for my poor sick husband, and then finally made it home just in time to head back out to get Emily from preschool.  While I was waiting in line to get her from the classroom, I nervously played with my rings, and it was then I realized… My main diamond in the engagement ring was GONE!  Oh no.  A sickening feeling permeated, with some shock and dread.  I looked in the car, looked on the steps of the school, went home to tell Josh.  He checked the van.  We stopped to eat lunch, and I posted my awful news on Facebook.  After picking Anna up from school, we went to the bowling alley to look throughly.  At that time, I resigned myself to the fact that the diamond was permanently lost.  However, our girls (each separately) prayed with me that we would find the diamond.  Isn’t the faith of a child priceless?  Later that afternoon, I headed to the church to meet with someone and took Emily with me.  While I was waiting, I thought, “I should check my purse…  Just in case.”  So, I took everything out.  Wallet, keys, lotions, Shout Wipes, broken kid jewelry (which reflected like my diamond and got my hopes up prematurely).  I emptied the pockets.  Bag of throat drops, hand sanitizer, chapstick, lip stain, and cell phone.  I raked my fingers along the bottom and was pretty grossed out at the amount of goldfish crumbs and lollipop pieces that stuck to my finger.  As I did this inside of the cell phone pocket, along with the goldfish crumbs and lollipop pieces, gleamed the lost diamond!  “EMILY!” I exclaimed.  “COME SEE WHAT I FOUND!”  She ran to me, and I showed her.  What she said next encouraged this momma’s heart.  “See,” she said.  “God just said ‘wait.'”  You see, we have taught our kids over the years that God ALWAYS answers prayers.  Sometimes He says “YES,” sometimes He says, “NO,” but other times He simply wants us to “WAIT.”  Thank you, Emily for that sweet reminder.  🙂

Emily1

This modern-day parable reminds me of two stories Jesus told.

“Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one.  Won’t she light a lamp and sweep the entire house and search carefully until she finds it? And when she finds it, she will call in her friends and neighbors and say, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost coin.’  In the same way, there is joy in the presence of God’s angels when even one sinner repents.”  ~Luke 15:8-10

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like a treasure that a man discovered hidden in a field.  In his excitement, he hid it again and sold everything he owned to get enough money to buy the field.” ~Matthew 13:44

I’m SO grateful that the Lord indeed answered our prayers that day in order to find the lost diamond.  May my soul be overwhelmed by His goodness and grace, but may I be even more mindful of Kingdom work that is still at hand.  Each person I encounter is even more valuable than my diamond.  I was so concerned with that gem.  May I be even more concerned for the “diamonds” all around me because treasure doesn’t lie in this world.  The Kingdom of Heaven is the true treasure.

Leave a Reply

