Find me

Standard

“The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.” 

2 Chronicles 16:9

Caleb hiding

One of Caleb’s favorite things to do right now is to find those who are hiding in our house.  Often, he and Emily play this game in which he tells her to “hi” while he “sees” her.  So, Emily hides in roughly the same spots in our house, and Caleb does his rounds to each spot he knows, and when he finds his sister, he lets out this excited squeal of glee with a super cute, toothy smile.  He makes such a simple game so much fun!

Throughout the span of time, God has also been searching for people.  Not because He can’t see them or because He doesn’t already know the outcome, but our Heavenly Father SO desperately wants us to FIND Him.  In the Old Testament story of the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah, Abraham intercedes on behalf of the righteous people of these cities because the Lord wants to destroy them due to their intense wickedness.  Abraham pleads with God, He promised to spare the cities if He finds 50 righteous people.  So, God searched and came up short.  The countdown continued 45 righteous? 40, 30, 20, 10 righteous?  Nope.  The cities were destroyed, and how it must have grieved God’s heart to search and search and not even find 10 people in TWO cities who were righteous.

In the New Testament, after Jesus rose again and spent time with His disciples, preparing them for His ascension back to heaven, He told them in Acts 1:4, “Do not leave Jerusalem until the Father sends you the gift he promised, as I told you before…In just a few days, you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.”  In saying this, Jesus wasn’t belittling Himself or any other part of the Trinity.  The Holy Spirit was sent so that God would be with and within His followers after Jesus ascended to heaven.

It is with the Holy Spirit that God the Father and Jesus the Son search the hearts of people who are committed to Him.  It’s the way that God speaks to and through people, the way He challenges us when we’re going a way we shouldn’t, and the way He comforts us in hard times.

Too many times, I’m looking for approval of others, trying to fit in, or wondering if other’s eyes see me as worthy.  Ugh.  Quite frankly, I’m done with it.  When it’s all said and done on the day of Judgement, who do I have to stand before to give an account of my life?  God, and God alone.  I’m standing up today, declaring that while I certainly value and hold in high esteem other’s opinions, I’m ultimately living my life to glorify that audience of One.  I pray that you, Anna, Emily, Caleb, and anyone else reading this blog post will see this characteristic in my life and will purpose to do the same.

May His eyes find us all faithful to Him alone.

I’m ever so grateful for the Holy Trinity, how they work in tandem, searching my heart, challenging my life, and giving a peace and hope to endure tough times.  Like Caleb and his “hi” game, I pray that the Lord’s eyes will FIND me, 100% committed and living a life worthy of the call upon my life.

“The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.” 

2 Chronicles 16:9

3 thoughts on “Find me

  1. Oh, sweet Christa, how I LOVED reading this. THANK YOU for sharing your heart and being transparent before our God. May He continually FIND us faithful to His calling to love Him and others. XOXO!

  2. Ellen

    Amen, Amen!! I so agree with you Christa, I’ve been feeling the same way, that I’ve lived my looking to please others and wanting their approval and I’ve definitely been feeling that it’s God and Him alone that I want to please. Lord my You find me faithfully committed to You right along with Christa. I pray I will live to always bring glory to Your name Lord! Thanks for the beautiful challenge today Christa ❤

Leave a Reply

