No mirages

Standard

Thirsty.  It’s how one feels after a great workout or a hot day out in the sun.  There’s never been a time when I’ve been truly dying of physical thirst, so I don’t think I can speak from that point of view.  It’s said that a person can survive for only 3 days without water, but I’m finding that there’s a water the Lord desires me to drink of in a deep way because I’ve been thirsty for too long only to find out that instead of drinking the LIVING water He provides, I’ve been chasing mirages.

“O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water.” ~Psalm 63:1

 Mirage

It’s that incredible visual…  A sun-scorched traveler, wandering the desert, sand in the eyes, sunburn intense on the skin, mouth dry because there’s nothing left in the canteen.  But, oh, LOOK!  Ahead, there’s a large pool, a fresh water pond, plants with dew from the grass around it.  Ugh.  A mirage of temporary pleasure, pleasing people, finding security in other people’s opinions, financial freedom, perfect kids, perfect husband, perfect house…  Too often, this is how I operate my life in Christ.  That mirage is simply that, a mirage, NOT real.  Those things will never fully QUENCH the thirst I have for the Living Water the Lord entices my soul with.

Isn’t this an incredible promise?

“For I will pour out water to quench your thirst and to irrigate your parched fields. And I will pour out my Spirit on your descendants, and my blessing on your children.” ~Isaiah 44:3

There’s no mirage, no substitute worth the time or effort.  He POURS OUT HIS SPIRIT!  May my heart be receptive and willing to walk in this truth so that my descendants, my children, may receive His blessing because of my life well-lived and drinking of the Living Water.

5 thoughts on “No mirages

  1. Great visual of our thirsty we are when we don’t take time to allow God to quench our thirst in spending quiet time with Him. How it doesn’t matter what we try to do nothing will quench what we are seeking without allowing God to pour out His Spirit I us when we seek and find Him. Thanks for sharing how to quench our thirst in Christ.
    Marilyn ( Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team )

  2. elise

    beautifully said. I will save the mirage visual and hold that up to all of the things that “distract” me from what is important and the Truth … yes, they are mirages. ❤

  3. Ellen

    I LOVE the mirage image! I’ve certainly followed my fair share of mirages unfortunately, but I’m thankful God is showing us differently. Beautifully written as usual 🙂
    Love you

Leave a Reply

