He’s still working on me…

Standard

It’s been a while since I’ve written. I guess one could call it a “dry spell” in which no words, quips, or anecdotes seemed noteworthy in a public forum. In this time, however, the Lord has been doing a work in me. Things surrounding me are not perfect… I’m looking for ideas to remedy a 2 year old who hits frequently, I’m tired and my weight has gone up, my 1st grader doesn’t enjoy school, my kindergartener has “diva-ed” up and is displaying a new attitude. All that aside, He’s still doing a new work.  (My kiddos are TRULY fabulous…  Don’t we all have issues?  But, aren’t they SO cute?)

IMG_0004

John 21:15-17 recounts a conversation between Jesus and Peter… Three times, Jesus asked Peter if he loved Him. Yes, of course, why certainly, Peter responded three times, “You know that I love You.” Peter was probably insulted by this line of questioning… Didn’t Jesus see him? Didn’t Jesus notice his obvious devotion?

This afternoon, Jesus asked me this same question… “Christa, do you love me?” Why, but of course, Jesus. Don’t you see all I do? Don’t you know my husband is a pastor? Don’t you know I pray with my kids everyday? Don’t you see I lead worship at church? Don’t you see I teach preschool?

But, I failed to recognize the second half of Jesus’ question and command… “Feed my lambs.” Oh, I definitely think I “feed His lambs” by all the glorious things I “do,” but am I missing something? I do believe so.

Are my motives pure?
Do I have a “true heart” for those who are the “least of these?”
Do I go to Him first with my cares and concerns?

I’m committed to being on this journey of finding my place in “feeding His lambs.” Be it my children, on the missionfield abroad, my backyard (literally), at school, at the grocery store… May my heart and actions line up with His.

“He has told you men what is good and what it is the Lord requires of you: Only to act justly, to love faithfulness, and to walk humbly with your God.”  Micah 6:8

Leave a Reply

