Not a cheap imitation

Standard


Oh my sweet little boy…  He LOVES to mimic and imitate others.  Just this morning, after we took the girls to school, I had time to eat my sugary cereal.  SCORE!  Well, my guy wanted some in a bowl, too.  I went to refill my bowl (just to use up the milk because I don’t like drinking cereal milk, but I just don’t like it to go to waste), and I then stood up, leaned against the counter and cupboards to finish.  Caleb toddles down from his chair, just to stand by me and finish his cereal too.  As he looked up at me, I sensed a prodding of the Spirit that stirred my heart as if to say, “Just as He imitates you, you should imitate Me.” Whew.  All in a day’s work, right?

When I need him to wear a special kind of shoe (the pair for church and nicer outfits), I’ve found that he’ll be EXCITED to wear them because he thinks they look like “Papa” shoes (just like his papa).  And, if I pull out khakis to for him to wear…  He’ll excitedly proclaim, “Daddy!”  If I could have that heart when it comes to imitating the Lord.

FullSizeRender

Too often, I forget that, I too, need to be a mimic and imitator.  Not of other people, per se, but of God. I see all throughout scripture the great attributes and character of our God, but a passage in Romans really brings the message of who to imitate and mimic to life…  Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”  Romans 12:2 (NLT)

But, as one reads on, there’s PRACTICAL ways in which this NEW character and imitation come full throttle, starting in verse 9, Don’t just pretend to love others. Really love them. Hate what is wrong. Hold tightly to what is good. Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other. Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically.  Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.  When God’s people are in need, be ready to help them. Always be eager to practice hospitality.  Bless those who persecute you. Don’t curse them; pray that God will bless them.  Be happy with those who are happy, and weep with those who weep.  Live in harmony with each other. Don’t be too proud to enjoy the company of ordinary people. And don’t think you know it all!” Romans 12:9-16 (NLT)

 

Oh my sweet little boy… May I be more than just an example of how to eat a hurried breakfast.

Leave a Reply

