Talking fast

Standard

Yes, I do talk fast, especially when called upon to rehearse announcements at church.  For some reason, I find it my personal mission to make “announcements” the most exciting part of the morning.  *Sigh*

As I was reading Proverbs 31 (in the Amplified Bible) this morning, I came across verses 26 & 27 and almost became weary…  **In reality, it was the Holy Spirit giving correction to this area of my life.**

“She opens her mouth in skillful and godly Wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness [giving counsel & instruction].”  (Verse 26)

Initially, I thought, “Yep, that’s me.  I often give counsel and instruction.”  Kids, church members, extended family, and my husband often receive some sort of counsel and instruction from me.  In fact, I’m asked quite often for my opinion on things.  But, then, I read on…

“She looks well to how things go in her household, and the bread of idleness (gossip, discontent, and self-pity) she will not eat.” (Verse 27)

Excuse me while I go and wipe the bread of idleness off my mouth.  I have a few crumbs left over…

Hand over mouth

So, as I was confessing my shortcomings to the Lord in this area of my life, I wrote in my journal…”Maybe I should go on a “talking only when necessary” fast.  You know, like a “fast from food,” but instead of food, WORDS!  As I prayed through this, I realized (OBVIOUSLY) that I can’t walk through my day without talking at all.  Everyone will think I’ve lost my mind or am seriously upset.  However, I am going to do a few things before I speak:

  1. Think first (duh, right?)
  2. Consider the best way to communicate my point of view
  3. Those bread of idleness words will not be given a chance to rise… gossip, discontent, and self-pity, will not even exit my mouth: With God’s help, of course.
  4. Put on a smile

This is a difficult task, for sure, but I’m believing what Jesus said in Matthew 19:26, “With man this is impossible, but with God, ALL things are possible.”

I’ll let you know how it goes… 🙂

Leave a Reply

