Redirection

Standard

One of the greatest and most effective discipline methods for children is “redirection,” meaning, the parent or teacher directs the child AWAY from the action that is hurting themselves or others and focuses them on something more positive.  This is what I sense this morning as I spend time with Jesus.  He wants to “redirect” me.

hands-220163__340

In Psalm 71, verses 7 & 8, the “anonymous” author declares, “My life is an example to many, because you have been my strength and protection.  That is why I can never stop praising You; I declare Your glory all day long.”

Well, because I do have people (especially the little people in my home) watching me, I believe my words, actions, and tone are incredibly important.  Unfortunately, though, at times (too often), I behave as if those things really don’t matter, and well, “I’m me, so just get over it.”  Whoa, really?!?  Very wrong attitude, indeed.

So, when this attitude seeps in and my heart and behavior don’t line up with His Word or the calling He has placed on my life…  Well, I need a Holy Spirit redirection.  Maybe it’s just me, but I definitely need it today.

May I live out Paul’s words today…  And yes, just today.  I’m taking it one day at a time.

Acts 20:24 (NIV), “However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.”

Leave a Reply

